Second surgery, where I am today…and retiring this blog

Surgery #2- September 2, 2011:

Yes, it is true. I will be having a second surgery at Georgetown with Dr. Scott Spear currently scheduled for Friday, September 2, 2011. This procedure is minor. The surgery itself is only about 2 1/2 hours and I should be able to go back to work the following Tuesday. Without too many details, it really is just to fix some cosmetic issues that, over time, have started to bother me that they say they can perfect. The doctor, being as pompous as he is basically said “I told you so” at my 6-month follow up yesterday but when he asked me if I would do things differently I said probably not. When I reflected more yesterday after the appointment, there is no way I would have changed it. My recover was beautiful and I was back at work in 19 days. While I am having to have a second surgery, if I had gone with the traditional 2-step route, there would have been a second procedure which is basically what I am doing now. So, same amount of surgeries in the end.

Today:

While this is still not completely over for me, I feel fabulous overall. I know I did the right thing and I wouldn’t change a damn step in the process. For anyone considering having this surgery or one similar, hold your head high. My best advise is to stay educated on the subjects and make your own decisions. This is such a crazy choice we have to make, you never know the outcome but there is always light at the end of the tunnel.

My choice to end writing in this blog:

A lot has changed since I started this blog. I am still very open about my surgery and what is going on with me currently, but the little details here and there I want to keep to myself… Or at least keep to those that have the guts to ask me. I guess there are just some things that should be kept between myself and my husband (and maybe my family and closest of friends). So, that’s my story. If you were a reader, thank you for keeping in touch with me and following my story. I hope you learned from my experience and that it will help you in someway in the future.

Best of luck,

A

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment