Conversations with my Mimi

My Mimi- preface

Some of the hardest parts of being BRCA positive is discussing your decision with loved ones. For me,the anticipation of discussing my decision to have a PBM with my beloved grandmother was stressful and a little scary.

Now for those of you who know me well, you have probably met my Mimi and have most certainly heard me on the phone with her. She is my 83 year old, 4’11, red headed (white now), feisty Southern grandmother who I am so fortunate to have such an amazing relationship with. We talk nearly every day and I am so thankful she is in my life.

Generations of difference; Does it matter?

I was truly dreading having a conversation with my grandmother about my decision to have a mastectomy. I had actually planned on NOT telling her because, why worry an 83-year old woman? But it is my surgery that is prohibiting me from visiting her for thanksgiving and I was not going to lie to her about the reason I couldn’t go. So, I had to tell her and I am SO glad I did.

I guess I was so worried about telling her because I just didn’t think she would understand. Unaware of the data and science behind all of this, and with so many generations between us, I thought she would be upset at me…or mad even.

I was so off…

Loving my Mimi

Mimi was already aware I was BRCA+ so I don’t know why I was so worried about telling my Mimi. She is a very modern grandmother and in her words:

“It can be exhausting being so modern.”

I did get her “seal of approval” and she even told me  that she was proud of me for facing my fears and reality. Who wouldn’t LOVE to hear that!!!

She did make me swear I did not have cancer and asked this same question 2 or 3 times, for clarification. She then told me she was proud of me but secretly had concerns about how my breasts would look. (She didn’t tell me this until days later). She didn’t want to frighten me, she said, and I guess she was talking to one of her friends at bridge who said my breasts would look better than before! My Mimi liked this and continues to be very supportive.

I hope everyone going through what I am is as lucky to have someone in their life like my Mimi =)


2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Conversations with my Mimi

  1. Katie

    What an amazing conversation! I’m so glad to hear you have that wonderful support 🙂

  2. lisaanngrey

    I am really proud of you for making such a major decision. I am a 3 year cancer survivor, and I have also had a double mastectomy. I know it’s not an easy thing to do, but I admire your bravery – and glad you have such an awesome grandma for moral support!
    Lisa
    http://www.pinkkitchen.info

Leave a Reply

